Imam Mohammad Ibn Saud Islamic University, represented by the faculty of Sharia, was established in the year 1373 AH, 1953 CE, it developed radically until it became a university in the year 1394 - 1974 AD.
Complementarity between commitment to Islamic values and academic excellence is what the university has done in order to contribute to building an information and knowledge society, the university seeks to meet the educational and development needs of the Saudi society by preparing qualified scientifically, culturally and intellectually qualified human cadres to serve the community, providing an educational and cultural environment that serves the needs of the academic institution and proceeding with programs to develop its human cadres.

The university also contributes to advancing human development by offering various study programs at various levels, whether at the level of scientific institutes (general education) or at the bachelor’s and postgraduate levels (higher education) .
Despite the excellence of the university in its legal and linguistic outputs since its inception, but it was not limited to that only, but also established colleges and institutes to provide specialized programs in the social sciences, linguistics, science, computer, administration, economics, engineering and medicine.

The university includes an integrated city for the education of female students, the university includes an integrated city for the education of female students, who was honored to bear the name of the Custodian of the Two Holy Mosques, King Abdullah bin Abdulaziz Al Saud.

It also includes 14 colleges, 3 institutes for postgraduate studies, several support deanships, research and service centers, and scientific research chairs, in addition to a university branch in Al-Ahsa Governorate in the Eastern Province of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia.

The university also takes care of teaching Arabic to non-native speakers, so there is an institute for teaching Arabic in Riyadh. In addition to 70 scientific institutes spread in the regions of the Kingdom, and two scientific institutes outside the Kingdom in Indonesia and Djibouti, in addition there is a number of institutes currently under construction, through which the university seeks to reach the universality which is one of its main goals.